Ames Moot Court Competition 2017 - HarvardLawSchool


The Ames Competition, held in the historic Ames Courtroom of Harvard Law School, is one of the most prestigious competitions for appellate brief writing and advocacy in the country. The students participating in the Final Round started the competition in fall of their 2L year.  Two teams progressed to the Final Round through their strong research abilities and excellent written and oral advocacy.This year’s case was Dylan Bloom v. United States of America. The presiding judges were Chief Justice John G. Roberts Jr. '79, of the U.S. Supreme Court; Judge Debra Ann Livingston ’84 of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit; and Judge Carl E. Stewart of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.The John Hart Ely Memorial Team (Petitioner)David BeylikJason Ethridge (Oralist)Jenya GodinaIsaac ParkDavid Phillips (Oralist)Derek ReinboldThe Fred T. Korematsu Memorial Team (Respondent)Frederick Ding (Oralist)Vivian DongHenry DruschelLydia Lichlyter (Oralist)Raeesa MunshiWilliam Schmidt